Rea Vaya

Get Ready To Ride The Rea Vaya Bus In Sandton

The Johannesburg Development Agency (JDA) looks to start the implementation of the Rea Vaya Bus Rapid Transport (BRT) station on Rivonia Road in Sandton. The development of the Rivonia Road Rea Vaya BRT station is projected to take 10 months and will supplement the various parts of infrastructure that have been taking place in the Louis Botha Corridor, including the Grayston bridge, M1 BRT bridge, and the Watt street interchange.


  • Rea Vaya translated means ‘we are going’.
  • To date, Rea Vaya has a fleet of 277 buses and the Phase 1C bus fleet will number between 240 to 260 buses.
  • To date R3.7-billion has been spent on infrastructure and the estimated cost for Phase 1C is R3-billion all inclusive.
  • Visit for more stories.


Construction of 10 other BRT stations spread along the Phase 1C route has been completed. There are another 6 stations that are currently under construction, one of which is the Rivonia Road Rea Vaya BRT station.


The construction of the Rivonia Road Rea Vaya BRT station forms part of the overall Phase 1C trunk route, which stretches from the Johannesburg CBD, along Louis Botha Avenue, passing the northern part of Alexandra township and looping back through Katherine Street, up to Rivonia Road at Sandton City.


The construction, due to begin in the second quarter of 2021, is the final stretch of BRT infrastructure to be implemented in the area and once completed, will be part of further options in transport facilities and be integral in the precinct development to contribute to the broader public daily commute from other parts of the city.


The JDA has already completed a major portion of the required infrastructure, particularly the road upgrades from the Johannesburg CBD along Louis Botha Avenue, Katherine Drive and Rivonia Road itself.


The introduction of Phase 1C will bring safe, affordable and reliable transport to the residents of Berea, Yeoville, Orange Groove, Cheldondale, Norwood, Balfour Park, Bramley, Wynberg, Alexandra, Marlboro, Athol, Sandton, Sandown, Longmeadow and Greenstone.

// Member of Mayoral Committee for Transport in the City of Johannesburg, Cllr Nonhlanhla Makhuba


Get the best of The Sandton Times in your email inbox.


Head back to The Sandton Times Home Page for more stories.


Picture of Sandton Times Correspondent

Sandton Times Correspondent

Curated content from The Sandton Times newsroom desks.


Related Posts